You Wood Do That! Haunted Design House!

Standard

Good afternoon Friends,

I wood like to share my “Wood” project with you all. Over at the “Haunted Design House” challenge blog their theme is “Wood.”

So here is my creation:

front-1-wood-challenge

I covered a curio cabinet with Graphic 45 paper. The lace trim behind the ornament is from Stampin Up!

To make this ornament I used “Crowned Angel Pendant” from A Gilded Life. They are a new company from Spellbinders. I put metallic Rubz, rhinestones from SU, half pearls from Pizazz A Plenty, and Journey Sparkle Glitter. I sealed it with Journey Glaze. I used metallic Rubz on the metal flower behind the Angel. The lace is from stash, that I glued to a circle punch out of cardstock. I used Tim Holtz’ “Vintage Photo” ink on it to Age it.

frontowlclay-hdh-wood-chall

I used a Martha Stewart clay mold for the owl. I then put on Rubz, Journey Glitter and to seal it I used Journey Glaze.

 

frontskulls-wood-ch-hdh

This is the center of the cabinet. The top Skull Key I received from Lisa Hall, long time ago. The center skull is glass and I received it from Creepy Glowbugg. The bottom one is from Micheal’s it’s a Tim Holtz.  You can see more of the paper here. I used the Halloween stack “Steampunk Spells.”

 

frontcorner-hdh-wood-ch

Left side of cabinet. I do not remember where I got the corner pieces? But the glitter half moon and star was a Jolee’s from Micheal’s.

 

 

 

 

 

 

right-side-hdh-wood-challen  This is the right side of the cabinet.  The gold glitter flourish is a Jolee’s as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

more-trinkets

 

I bought this ornate scissor charm from “Violet’s Scrapbook” store. I don’t remember on the moon charm?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

full-cabinet

 

Here is the finished piece hanging on my wall. You can see my chunky wood Poe ATC up there, and my covered book that I made in Texas with Patti, at a Spellbinders class.

I first sanded down the cabinet, then painted it black. After I Mode Podged the papers on, I used a Stampin’ Up! sander to sand down all of the edges and on the wood to remove and scuff up the wood. Then used Tim Holtz’ “Vintage photo” ink on the edges of the paper and on the scuffed wood. I replaced the handle on the drawer with a knob from Lowe’s.

 

To the DT’s at HDH, I hope this is not to frilly for ya, and makes you throw-up! 🙂

I would like to enter my altered wood cabinet into:

Haunted House Design: challenge “You wood do that!”

Thank you for your visit and for your comments! Stay Crafty my Friends!

Peace,

KristyLee

About KristyLee

Hi, my name is KristyLee, I live in sunny Florida. (Yes I do have alligators in my back yard.) I am a stay at home doggie mommy of 3. Two Chihuahuas, one long hair and one short haired. I also have a German Sheppard. I served in the US Navy, and now a veteran. I have a degree in Medical coding and billing. My personality can be summed up as: funny, hot-tempered, quirky, opinionated, creative, loving, stubborn, and loyal. I started making cards when I was around 13. I have a passion for making greeting cards, tongue and cheek cards, scrap-booking, crafting, altered art, sewing, baking, and polymer clay. I am on the Design Team for (LOC) Left of Center challenges. I am always on the lookout for new techniques to try. I am also a Coach for "Fun Stampers Journey" a new sister company of Spellbinders. Please visit my web site: Funstampersjourney.com/96 I am also involved with a great company called "Young Living" they sell all healthy products, and oils. If you want to feel better and or look better, not just for you but for your entire family including the kids, then you must check out this great company, here: www.YoungLiving.org/KLDeyette You can ask me questions any time about them. Thank you for your visit into my world, and looking at art through my eyes. May God Bless you and yours! Stay Healthy and Crafty my Friends! And always enjoy the journey!

4 responses »

  1. This is wonderful, Kristy! And my gag reflex didn’t kick in at all! LOL! Beautifully done. I love all the little details and charms. Now you need some goodies to fill up those shelves.
    Thanks so much for joining us in the dungeon at HDH for our WOOD inspired challenge.

  2. Are you kidding! It’s gorgeous, Kristy! Fab paper and wonderful details. Your chunky Poe ATC looks fab on top and I’m wondering where you got that cool skully bottle! thanks so much for joining us in the dungeon at HDH. xxD

  3. Great wood project, Kristy! Thank you for taking so many photos to show the details – there are so many – and the marvelous textures and colors, too! hugs, de

Leave a Reply

